RPM Challenge 2009

Technically, RPMers have until noon today to mail in or drop off their cds, so I thought I would add one more blog about the RPM from last year.  I wanted to post this sooner, but I got so caught up in other projects.  In 2009, I had put a band together to do this.  Ben Rand on guitar, Barry Finkelstein on String Bass, Tim Bennet on Drums.  It was hard to get all of us at each others house or apartment for rehearsal, so I would go to Ben or Barry’s house on an individual basis and we would work together that way.  That was not working out to well.  About 10 days into the Challenge, I asked my boss if we could rehearse and record in the dry storage room adjacent to the restaurant.  He said it was not a problem.

We had a rehearsal spot and a place to record when it came time, that made things a lot easier.  Scheduling was still a bit of a problem but still we never had to worry about where we were going to play. Thank you Tom, for the space!  It was always cold in there, but it was so much fun.  This was the first time I did the RPM Challenge and it didn’t matter.  During my days off from work I would put tunes together and then almost every night, we would practice these tunes. Sometimes it would just be three of us there, and sometimes just two, but what a feeling to be creating music like that!

My friend Jeremy Heflin who is a photographer came by to capture some of that for me.  He and I go back to high school together. We were in the band and he was a year ahead of me.  After high school it would be years before we reconnected. I am glad we did.  Jeremy is a good man and a good friend with a heart of gold.  I had asked him a year before this to do the photos for for my first cd and he did so gladly.  When I asked him to do this one, he didn’t hesitate, he came by on two occasions because on one them, Barry wasn’t in them and it was necessary that he was.  When I asked him what I owed him he said, “Don’t worry about it, we are both a couple of artists just getting started”  I don’t mind saying I got a little choked up when he said that.

Jeremy now has a wonderful wife and they are now in Taiwan. He is teaching English and  to kids and adults. He also photo documents his life there.    To see the slideshow of the images he took in 2009, please click the link below.

http://www.heflinphoto.com/photos/Atthecafe

To see his website, click this link —   http://www.heflinphoto.com

To  hear the tunes from  the 2009 RPM Challenge please click this link —  Music All of them except “Under the Bridge” were on that.

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

