One Man and His Horn: Knoxville Day 1

After playing in downtown Dandridge for an hour yesterday, I head to Knoxville and got there around 11:30.  I went to Market Square and there was a Farmer’s Market going on in the the middle of it, I arrived at the perfect time.  I walked through, to the center of the market and asked if it would be okay to play.  The woman said yes.  I went off to the side and set up and got started around 11:45.  It was a great spot, lots of people and they were friendly.   About an hour into my shift, I saw another man who was a busker.  His name was Morgan and he plays the banjo. We talked for a few minutes and he has been all around the world. His favorite spot was Berlin, Germany!  He had a gig there later in the evening.  While I was talking to Morgan, a woman who had just done some shopping at the market, put a bag with some food in it.  I was so grateful for that, it meant I didn’t have to buy lunch.

After my shift, I went to a coffee shop called Coffee and Chocolates to do my work.  How wonderful, two of my favorite things in one spot! Though I refrained from the chocolate yesterday, there is no guarantee about today.  Steph was working and she was cool. I talked to her for a few minutes and she was helpful.

I went to buy batteries for my camera so I could have some pictures to share, and I got back to Market Square around 5:45.  I started playing and I knew I was going to be there for a while.  It was a little slow at first but I thought if I started later, I wouldn’t get this spot.  About 30-45 minutes later, other buskers started to come out.  One man was doing a magic show and he got a decent crowd going a couple of times.  From what I could see, they really enjoyed his show.  I would like to have seen it but I was too far away.  There were a couple other musicians who came out and set up on either end of the Square.  It was certainly big enough so there was no issue.  Very different than Nashville.

I played out there for just over 3 hours and had a most wonderful time. The people of Knoxville are kind and friendly.  I spoke with several people throughout the night.  Adam, a waiter who works at the restaurant I was playing outside of, came out to talk to me for a few minutes.  He asked me how long I was in town and told me if I needed a place to stay, to let him know.  In some aspects, the people here reminded me of the people in Montgomery, warm and welcoming.  When I was done playing, I asked by several people when I was coming back.  I told them I wasn’t sure, so this morning I decided to stay for a second day. I am thankful for the opportunity to go and play a second night in Knoxville.

I am also thankful to my brother for letting me stay at his house for the time I am here, it is great to see him and his family for more than one night!

 

 

 

1 comment

Leave a Reply

