One Man and His Horn: Greenville

I found my way to Greenville, SC and downtown was really pretty.  It didn’t take me long to find a spot.  Sundays in Greenville – at least from what saw – during the day it is a very walking town.  Families were out taking a stroll and perhaps  going to have a picnic.  The general feeling in the air and from the people I talked to, it was like ‘Pleasantville’.   If not for how modern things looked, I would have thought I stepped back in time.

I had a little bit of  distance to get to my spot, but I enjoyed the walk.  I passed by some nice little parks and brick sculptures. Plus it was a beautiful sunny day. I thought to myself, I am going to like this town.  I set up and I started playing and was met with great reception from the start.  Unfortunately, it didn’t last long.   About 40 minutes into my playing, I was approached by a police officer.  I asked “Is it time for me go?”  That is what I always ask and normally they say “No”. In my mind, it was a rhetorical question.  This time it wasn’t.  In Greenville you do have to register with the city, and they give you a red bucket to collect tips.  That is how they know if you are licensed or not.  I understood this and said “No problem”  I packed it up went to a local coffee shop.

I didn’t stay long in Greenville after that.  I was headed to Atlanta, and wanted to be there before it got too late.

 

Leave a Reply

