Busking is not Soliciting

I was in Naples today, Thursday the 17th, playing ath the Pier.  I was playing for about 40 minutes before Beach Patrol gave me the boot.  He came over gave me the cut sign and looked in my tip box and said,

“It looks like you have something out here asking for money and judging by your box, I can see money.  That is solicitation and you can wind up in court for that.”

I told him most of it was already in there before I started, which was true.  He didn’t care. I think he thought I was giving him attitude, which I wasn’t, but I told him I would pack it up without a problem.  However, I do have a problem with that.  I am okay with being asked to leave because I don’t have a permit, as I have said before, one needs one in Savannah.

I go to these towns for a day.  I don’t know the rules, which is why I always try to find someone to ask.  I figure- show some respect and you get some respect. If  I am told I need a permit, I simply go to the next town. I have not really had any problems.  I mean, I  got the boot a few times, but this talk of  solicitation and court is unacceptable.  I am not okay with threats of court and citations for “Soliciting”.  Busking and Soliciting are two VERY different things.  Yes, I am sure there have been Buskers who do solicit.  Clearly though, I was not, nor do I solicit- I know the difference.  I just play my saxophone, if people like what they hear, they give me a tip.  If they don’t they just walk by. This is not an angry post.  Just trying to clarify.

Street performance or busking is the practice of performing in public places, for gratuities, which are generally in the form of money and edibles. People engaging in this practice are called street performersbuskersstreet musiciansminstrels, or troubadours.     http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Street_performance    please take notice of the people who are now famous who were Buskers and/or still do from time to time.

Literally, solicitation means: ‘urgently asking’. It is the action or instance of soliciting; petitionproposal. In criminal law, it most commonly refers to either the act of offering goods or services, or the act of attempting to may be specific to the time and place where solicitation occurs.    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solicitation  \

Thank you for taking the time to read this post.  I just felt I needed to put it out there.

1 comment
  1. Jimmy said:

    Thanks Bro. for the post. I have many stories of being booted my self.

Leave a Reply

