On Man and His Horn: Ft. Myers and Sarasota

I stayed in Ft. Myers to do the morning to afternoon shift, yesterday. I moved my location to the corner of First St. and Broadway.    Unfortunately, there wasn’t as much traffic as I was hoping for.  Although, a man named Patrick gave me  an invite to sit in with his band for the Saturday night “Music Walk” event.  I had to decline, but I was grateful for the offer.   It sounded like it was going to be fun, apparently, it is the third Saturday of every month  http://www.fortmyersmusicwalk.com/       After about 2 hours, I decided to head to Sarasota.   I liked my time Ft. Myers. The people there are friendly and helpful, and busking is perfectly fine.  It just wasn’t panning out for me, so, it was time to go.

I got to Sarasota around 3-3:30.  I followed directions that took me out to St. Armands, a beautiful little area across the bridge.  After crossing this bridge, the first thing you see is about a 60 foot sculpture of the Sailor and the Nurse made famous after WWII.  It was amazing!  There was a park in on the inside of the roundabout/rotary that was really nice.  I found a spot there that looked pretty good.  I hung out there for over an hour and a half and realized, when I come back after a while, I need to change my spot.   When I went back to work, I did move to a different spot, but it didn’t last long.  Music from across the street was a little loud.  I moved 2 more times before finding a perfect rotunda with 7 statues in it. They were all pretty amazing sculptures.  There were actually a lot of them around.   I didn’t know what they all were at first.  But the one I sidled up next to, to play, represented Water.  Her’s was the only one with the light not working.  So I moved to the other side immediately, she just happen to represent Music!  I played to her, to honor her.

The next two and a half hours were so much fun and just flew by.  I got to talk to a lot of people and give away some discs.  I had a an audience (albeit, a small one) for a while and they were super cool.  I played a tune I have been having a hard time for a little one, and I finally made it through it.  I told her I have been having trouble with that and she said “I am a good luck charm!”  I told her “I knew I just needed to play it for someone special!”  She smiled, it was adorable.  There were also some High Schoolers who sang along with me on “My Favorite Things” That was a lot of fun!  There was a really cool couple, with their son, or grandson who hung around for a while and they were great to talk to. Unfortunately, I don’t remember their names!                        

I didn’t bother looking for police officer’s last night.  I just thought I would play until I asked to leave.  I didn’t even see one until way later in the night!  Sarasota is another place where you don’t permits. When I was done playing for the night and at the coffee shop, I was talking to a barista, named Katie.  She had a lot of info.  In fact she told me downtown would probably be pretty good.  Apparently, you can play out in front of businesses in Sarasota – as long as people are enjoying it.                                                                                             

Leave a Reply

