One Man and His Horn: St. Augustine and Jacksonville

After a few hours on the road, I arrived in St. Augustine around 8:30ish and set up along the Sea Wall.  I could see across the street the center of town was all lit for Christmas and looking beautiful.  I didn’t las long there as the place directly across the street from me had live music, so I moved to the other side of the town square behind the Visitor’s Center and museum.  I stayed out there almost two hours, though the town was hopping and there were a lot of people out and about, they weren’t a lot by there. I gave a cd to a family that passed by and they played it in their car as they were driving away.  I thought that was cool!  I also so another family who had a young boy with a violin case on his back.  His Mom told me he was playing over in the one of the allies.  I thought, how cool are his parents!  I put my gear away and looked around for a bit and got some information from a some locals.  They told me busking is allowed on the side streets of St. George, 50 feet away.  They even have markers, which I didn’t find out until the next day.

The next day, I went back down to look at these side streets and it just didn’t seem like it would work.  I went back to the Visitor’s Center and played for over an hour.  It was a little slow. A student, named Marsha stopped by to contribute and I gave her a cd and played one of the tunes for her.  I moved back to the Sea Wall after that.  I didn’t  like how close I was to the ocean.  I stayed there for 40 minutes.  I checked out the allies again but, they were in use.  I walked around and looked at St. Augustine, it really is a great little city.

I returned to the Visitor’s Center one more time, just as it was getting dark.  During that time a couple, Chris and Debra, stopped by.  They were really cool.  I also gave them a cd. I explain how I come up with songs and she gave me a sentence and I made a tune for them.  Debra told me she lives in Jacksonville.  I told her that was my next stop.  She started telling me some spots to go.  I talked with them for a few minutes and then they left.  I started playing again and a bike Officer came up to me and said “I haven’t seen you before”  I said “Nooo you haven’t, I am brandy new”  This man couldn’t not have been any cooler.  He gave the the entire low down. I was basically in the only in the only spot that wasn’t allowed.  We had some banter back and forth and I headed to the ally.  Though people were walking on St. George, not many came down the ally.  They stopped and listened from St. George.  I was there for about an hour and I hit a really bad squeak and decided, I had enough.  I packed it up and headed for Jacksonville, my last stop on this tour.

Based on Debra’s suggestion, I went to 5 Points.  It was the easiest directions she gave me.  I got there around 10:30am.  There was a great park called Memorial Park, across from all kinds of businesses.  I thought I would play fro the lunch crowd from 11:30 to 1:00.  See how that went and decide if I would stay for the night.  I met a guy named Mike.  He was pretty cool and we talked for a bit and I gave him a cd.  He liked the concept and the tune I played for him.  There wasn’t a  whole lot going on.  However, I Police officer went by me and didn’t say anything, so I am guessing busking is just fine in the parks of Jacksonville, as well as the River Walk.  Since it was uneventful, and it is Magic Tuesday, I decided to return home.

I want to thank everyone who has followed along on my Florida Tour.  It was great experience and it was also wonderful to meet up with some old friends, and as always make new ones.

Leave a Reply

