Asheville: Day 2

I am not really going to talk about busking in this post, though I did go out for over 2 hours. I started off at a coffee shop to write in my blog, and ended up having a 2+ hour conversation with another patron. A student, who is studying here to be a writer. It was a great conversation about literature and movies and the comparison between books and movies.  That is one of the things I am hoping to do a lot of during this trip, meet and talk to to as many people as I can.  That is actually one of the reasons for this trip.  I want to get a feel for each and every place I stop, I figure I can do that by not only exploring the city and taking my time, but also talking to the people who live there.  So far, everyone I have talked to here, loves it here!

As I said yesterday, there seems to be something going on here all the time, and yesterday (Sunday) was World Food Day or something like that.  There was a big rally right up in the plaza where the obelisk is.  It was a March Against Monsanto rally, or at least that is what it appeared to be.  I don’t normally take part in rallies or protests, or get political,  but I hate (and I don’t use that word), really hate Monsanto.  I am shocked that the FDA allows them to sell the GMO products.  I am not as informed as the people that were in the rally and I didn’t really talk to any of them. I just know with what little research I have done, it is not a good thing. I also didn’t hold a sign, but I did hang out for a while on two occasions, as it went for the entire afternoon.  I stayed a little longer the second time as the band that was playing was excellent. There is a part of me that thinks it is a little useless to have these rallies or marches because it is too small and the right people won’t hear it.  Then, there is the other part of me that thinks, it has to start somewhere.  To me, Wall St. needs to protest- and I think we all know that ain’t happenin’!  That is my first and hopefully, last political rant.  As I said, I don’t do this- ever- but I just had to put it out there.

As for the rest of the day, there was the threat of rain looming overhead for a good portion of the day. I met up with a dear friend later in the evening, and watched a little football and had a little something to eat. That was awesome!  That it is when it started to rain, in my opinion, perfect timing.  I was able to enjoy my visit and not think, “I need to be out playing”  There is nothing I can do when it is raining.

So, two things happened yesterday, that don’t normally happen.  I took part in a rally and I didn’t stress out about not playing.  Again, I think the concept of no time constraints has really freed apart of me.  I am so looking forward to seeing what each and every day brings!

Also, I am taking pictures, it’s just they aren’t very good. It has been a long time since I have taken any good pictures, when I do, I will post some!

1 comment
  1. Noah said:

    James, just so you know, this is the first blog post I think I’ve ever read in its entirety. Don’t know if it will ever happen again, no promises, but I’ll try 🙂

Leave a Reply

