Knoxville

I love coming to Knoxville and playing at Market Square!  Not only is it a cool a place, but my brother lives just outside of Knoxville and I get to see him and the family, and I also have a friend that lives here and I get to see him for a bit.  When I was here 2 months ago, it was a little different.  It was kind of a zoo over there with all of the different performers and superheroes that were out there. It may be like that again on the weekend, I don’t know, we’ll see.  Anyway, since I pulled in on Sunday night, it has been wonderful!

Yesterday, I was there for the lunch crowd and I could swear I saw Leonardo DiCaprio.  I told him, at first glance he looked just like him.  He told me he gets that all the time. We talked for a few minutes, then I got to work.  He was walking around the Square, kinda looking around. About 20 minutes after I had made the Leo comment, someone else said it to him.  His response “It’s the beard”  Which is what I said to him when I told him people say I look like Billy Bob Thorton- I just don’t see it, so it must be my beard.  I chuckled.  Later he came over and put a tip in my tip box.  He was still there when I left and so I went over to him and talked for a few more minutes and I left.  Obviously, it wasn’t Leo and I didn’t get his name, but it was kinda cool.

Later in the afternoon I had some time on my hands so I messaged a friend I hadn’t talked to in a while.  It was great to catch up a little bit.  There was a misunderstanding a while back, and well, it got fixed and I am happy about that.  I also got a hold of my friend who lives here and we got together and watched the Red Sox.  That was a pitching match from hell!  And after that, I talked to my friend, Lisa, who took some photos of me a few years ago. Two of them, as well as many others of her photos are hanging up in a restaurant just outside of Asheville. On my way here on Sunday, I saw a sign for Fatz Cafe and pulled in to take a look.  And there they were! I had to let her know I saw them.  We talked for a bit on the phone  and it was great catching up with her.  You can see her work at http://www.langellphotography.com/  Check it out!

Yesterday, was an awesome day for friend reconnects!

After watching the Sox win, I went back out for a little while. Again, as it seems to happen a lot, people came over from the outside dining area of the restaurant I play in front of and we talk for a bit.  Or they come over after dinner and say how much they appreciate the “dinner music”.

I love this town!

Leave a Reply

