Recap and Immediate Plans

As 2013 comes to a close, this will be my last post of the year! I have been on the road for about 11 weeks now. It has been quite an adventure up to this point. I have been to a lot of different places and met a lot of really nice people. If you are new to this blog you can check out the “Cities I have Been To” category on my home page. I have learned a few things about myself and constantly amazed with the kindness of strangers. I mentioned that I have met a lot of cool people, it is absolutely true. Sometimes I have been in a city and I just don’t want to leave because of the new friendships I have made. I have also been able to meet up with some old friends and meet Facebook friends face to face.

I think back to a conversation I had with my friend Chris or Kee (maybe both) about waiting until the Spring to begin. I didn’t dismiss it entirely, it was a good idea. I could have saved a lot more money and not have had that as a stressor. I couldn’t wait that long to get out of Savannah. I liked my job at The 5 Spot, and I liked all who I worked with. I just had to get out of Savannah. I really wanted to be out on the road with Gilda and making music and seeing all this country has to offer. I have been able to that so far. I have seen lots of beautiful places and a lot of historical places which I have read about and now have been able to experience. I think the desert is absolutely beautiful. The flip side to all of this- I left with what I thought was a decent cushion. My brother in law, Ed and I had a plan for this trip, and made it different than the last few short trips I was on. It has not worked out at all like I had hoped. In all of the places I have been there have only been a handful, that I actually made some money in. No, the trip isn’t about making money in the sense that I am going to become “rich and famous” that would be silly. It would be nice to make enough to make a living though. I mean isn’t that why we work, to make money to make a living? I am not greedy, I don’t require much. I have had some help from a few friends and family members along the way and for that help I am so grateful. If it wasn’t for that help, I would be stuck somewhere cold right now.

I can no longer ask for help from my friends or family, it is time to stop for a while and make some money. I have stopped in the southwest and I will be here for the next few months, working and saving some money to continue. The Pearl needs to have a little work on her done and Gilda will need maintenance soon. I can also Busk here during my time off from work. I have an interview lined up for Thursday and I have a couple other applications out. I would have gone to California, but I read about the Busking laws out there in Southern Cali, and it is a nightmare there. I am not willing to take the chance with a lottery system and the high cost of living there at this point in time. Perhaps in the future. It is entirely possible I am going to change my route in the Spring. I will have to see what is going on then. For now, I will remain here in the Land of Enchantment. I have been welcomed by the people here and it is nice to be part of something.

I will also use this time to work on my craft and become a better Saxophonist. I have hit a plateau at this point. I was coming up with some really pretty melodies and then I lost them. I don’t know what happened, but they are gone. There is a Jazz and Blues Society that meets here once a month, I am looking forward to getting involved with that. I met a man who told me about that my first day here. Also, being surrounded by so much beauty here it is hard not to feel inspired!

I feel 2013 was a year of building things- a year of transition- I feel all the groundwork laid in 2013 will make 2014 take off. Not just for me, but for all of us. I know a lot of people out there have had a tough year with various things and we all made through. Look out, and be ready when it happens, because 2014 is going to be amazing!!!

Happy New Year to all of you- my friends, my family and to all of you I have not yet had the pleasure of meeting, I hope to soon!

Love to all of you! And Thank you for your continued support!

Leave a Reply

